Ms. Abeni Johnson Learning “A-Lot” in St. Louis

INROADS Inc. is a non-profit organization that helps to develop and place talented minority youth in business and industry while preparing them for corporate and community leadership.

For 10 weeks, I will be a Retail Management Intern at a Save-A-Lot store in Overland, MO. I will learn the ins and outs of running this store and other stores like opening the store, how to cut meat, how to stock (or as we call it “box down”) the store and much more.

At the conclusion of the internship, all of the Save-A-Lot interns will give a presentation to a panel of executives from Save-A-Lot’s corporate office on how to make the stores more efficient. Currently, I am in near the end of my 5th week and I really love it!! 

The people I work with in the stores are amazing and the customers are great as well. The other associates and managers are very helpful when it comes to learning every job in the store. The diversity of the store is something that I appreciate the most. I love how everyone works together as a team and how welcoming everyone in the company is from the people who work in the store to the CEO of the company.

The biggest and most memorable thing that has happened was meeting the CEO of Save-A-Lot, Bill Shaner. You would think that someone like him wouldn’t take time out of his busy schedule to meet with a group of interns and employees, but he’s one of the most down-to-earth people I have ever met. It was a life-changing moment for me, because I finally realized my possibilities.

This internship has really allowed me to see what I do and don’t want to do when I graduate next May. This experience has also made me realize what I’m passionate about, and what my purpose is in life. Many people want to make fun of my internship or look down on me because I work in grocery store. Well, I hope everyone realizes that everyone has to start somewhere. You never know how starting at the bottom could elevate you to the top.

“It is not enough to be compassionate. You must act.” The Dalai Lama

Leave a Reply

