Ms. Keaira Berry Researching Metabolic Disorders at University of Virginia

I am currently at the University of Virginia conducting research under the mentorship of Dr. Chien Li.  I am  investigating the effects of stress on energy homeostasis and the implications it may have in metabolic-endocrine disorders such as obesity and type II diabetes. I know…exciting right?! 

I did get to talk with Dr. Cheryl Apprey via email and am scheduled to have dinner with her sometime this upcoming week.  I attended the Endocrine Society meeting June 18-23, 2010 in San Diego, CA. I am very excited about this opportunity to experience a new city and establishing more connections through networking at the conference. I will be gaining more training in the fall through a Post-baccalaureate Research Education Program either at Tufts University, the University of Chicago, or a National Institutes of Health site.

I am still waiting on the confirmation for acceptance. I should know officially by the end of next week. I will keep you updated on my progress!

Leave a Reply

